Harper announces changes in cabinet

PM Stephen Harper.

PM Stephen Harper.

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today announced the following changes to the Ministry at a swearing-in ceremony at Rideau Hall:

The Honourable Joe Oliver, as Minister of Finance, will continue the government’s work to create jobs, strengthen the Canadian economy and balance the budget by 2015.

The Honourable Greg Rickford, as Minister of Natural Resources, will continue the government’s efforts to promote prosperity through the country’s abundant natural resources. He will continue his responsibilities for the Federal Economic Development Initiative for northern Ontario.

The Honourable Ed Holder, as Minister of State (Science and Technology), will continue the government’s leadership in science and technology and helping Canadian businesses remain competitive.

“Our government remains focused on creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for all Canadians. Mr. Oliver, Mr. Rickford and Mr. Holder bring with them a wealth of skills, knowledge and experience, and I am confident that they will deliver results and provide strong leadership in these important portfolios”, said Prime Minister Stephen Harper.